Southwest border HIDTA - New Mexico Region (NMHIDTA)

Southwest Border HIDTA
The Southwest Border High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area is a partnership of five regions along the Southwest Border. It includes New Mexico, West Texas, South Texas, Arizona, and the San Diego-Imperial HIDTA (SDI) which is the southern part of California. The partnership's mission is to develop a synchronized system that involves the coordination of drug intelligence, interdiction, investigation, and prosecution, thereby reducing the impact of illicit drugs in each of the regions and other areas of the country.

New Mexico Region
The New Mexico Region, commonly referred to as New Mexico HIDTA, consists of 17 HIDTA designated counties. The NM Region shares approximately 180 miles of international border with Mexico. The Region’s proximity to Mexico, it’s topography along the 180 mile international border, and its transportation infrastructure makes it a principal drug smuggling area as well as a transshipment and distribution center for illicit drugs destined for many other U.S. drug markets. This state is a transportation and transshipment corridor not only for illicit drugs but also bulk cash shipments and weapons using the state’s highway system, which includes the use of secondary roads, to destinations throughout the United States.

Mission Statement
To reduce drug availability by supporting multi-agency task forces and facilitating intelligence-driven interdiction and investigation aimed at disrupting or dismantling international and domestic drug trafficking organizations and their harmful consequences.

Vision Statement
New Mexico Region of the SWB HIDTA, through its Executive Committee and participating agencies, will become the lead, coordinating counter narcotics program for New Mexico. It will enhance the coordination of drug control efforts and the collection and dissemination of intelligence/information among local, state, tribal, and Federal law enforcement agencies. It will also facilitate intelligence driven investigations to combat drug trafficking and its harmful consequences in critical regions of the United States.

IT Network Position Announcement
Physician's Medical License Revoked in 2012
Texas Man Pleads Guilty to Federal Drug Trafficking Charge
Syndicato de Nuevo Mexico Prison Gang Associate Sentenced
California Man Facing Federal Drug Trafficking Charge
View All >>
NMHIDTA Counties Regions

Select a county from the map...

Year of Designation: 1990
Geographic Area of Responsibility by County: Bernalillo, Chaves, Hidalgo, Dona Ana, Eddy,Grant, Lea, Lincoln, Luna, Otero, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan, Santa Fe, Valencia, Taos and Torrance Counties and all the municipalities therein Taos Eddy Lea Chaves Dona Ana Otero Luna Grant Hidalgo San Juan Sandoval Rio Arriba Bernalillo Sante Fe Lincoln Torrance Valencia