Southwest border HIDTA - New Mexico Region (NMHIDTA)

The New Mexico Regional HIDTA Executive Committee oversees and coordinates the integration and synchronization of efforts to reduce illicit drug trafficking, eliminate unnecessary duplication of effort, leverage existing resources, and systematically improving the sharing of illicit drug intelligence and information. The Executive Committee reviews and approves all initiative funding requests for submission to ONDCP.

The New Mexico Regional HIDTA Director's Office supports the Executive Committee and its subcommittees and provides guidance in the preparation and development of the Threat Assessment, Strategy, Annual Report and Initiative/Budget Proposals. The Director's Office also conducts on-site fiscal and programmatic reviews to evaluate the effectiveness, efficiency, and progress toward attaining expected outcomes for each initiative. The outcome of each on-site review is documented and discussed formally with applicable subcommittees and the Executive Committee during scheduled meetings.

The New Mexico Regional HIDTA is governed by an Executive Committee (EC) comprised of 21 voting members and 1 ex-officio, non-voting member. The EC has created several subcommittees that assist in streamlining some of the processes, which allows for better coordination and ultimately, better efficiency.

Executive Committee Members

U.S. Marshal Service, Marshal Sonya Chavez (Chairman)
Region VI, Eddy County Sheriff's Office, Sheriff Mark Cage (Vice-Chairman)

Albuquerque Police Department, Chief Mike Geier
DAC Metro Narcotics Representative, Major William Weisler, NM State Police
New Mexico Army National Guard, Lt. Colonel Eric James
New Mexico District Attorneys Association, 11th Judicial DA Robert Tedrow
New Mexico Department of Corrections, Interim Cabinet Secretary Alisha Lucero
New Mexico Department of Public Safety, Cabinet Secretary Mark Shea
Region I, Chief Stewart Steele, Rio Rancho DPS
Region II, Chief Steve Hebbe, Farmington Police Department
Region III, Vacant
Region VII, ASAC Jeffery Mayfield, DHS-HSI
New Mexico State Police, Chief Tim Johnson

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives, Special Agent in Charge Monique Villegas
Bureau of Indian Affairs, Deputy Associate Director Robert Mathis
Drug Enforcement Administration, Special Agent in Charge Kyle Williamson
Federal Bureau of Investigation, Special Agent in Charge James Langenberg
HSI, Special Agent in Charge Jack Staton
IRS-CID, Special Agent in Charge Ismael Nevarez, Jr.
U.S. Attorneys Office - District of New Mexico, U.S. Attorney John Anderson
CBP - U.S. Border Patrol, Chief Patrol Agent Aaron Hull

New Mexico HIDTA, Acting Regional Director William R. Sullivan